Este sitio utiliza cookies para ofrecer nuestros servicios, mejorar el rendimiento, análisis y (si no estás registrado) publicidad. Al usar LibraryThing reconoces que has leído y comprendido nuestros Términos de Servicio y Política de Privacidad. El uso del sitio y de los servicios está sujeto a estas políticas y términos.

Autor de LibraryThing:
Karl Wolff

Karl Wolff es un Autor de LibraryThing, un autor que tiene listada su biblioteca personal en LibraryThing.

Ver la página del autor Karl Wolff.

Busca en los libros de kswolff

Libros al azar de la biblioteca de kswolff

Oxford Pocket Irish Dictionary por Breandan O Croinin

Complete Stories por Clarice Lispector

The Conservative Comeback: How to Win the Battle for the Soul of America por Todd Long

The Sake Handbook por John Gauntner

Boston Noir (Akashic Noir) por Dennis Lehane

Man Enough To Be Woman: The Autobiography of Jayne County por Jane County

Treasury of the Basel Cathedral por Timothy B. Husband

Miembros con libros de kswolff

Galería de usuario (16)

(ver todas las 16 imágenes)

Medallas por colaboración

Cover UploadingHelperWork CombinationCommon KnowledgeMember RecommendationsFiverTenner

 

Socio: kswolff

ColeccionesTu biblioteca (6,477), Lista de deseos (1,819), Actualmente leyendo (1), Por leer (32), Lo he leído pero no lo tengo (198), Todas las colecciones (8,472)

Reseñas482 reseñas

Etiquetasfiction (1,307), novel (816), non-fiction (494), France (198), poetry (157), UK fiction (153), history (151), series (143), gay (136), art (98) — ver todas las etiquetas

MediosCargando

Nubesnube de etiquetas, nube de autores, etiquetado inverso

Recomendaciones15 recomendaciones

Acerca de míI'm a voracious reader. I love fiction and non-fiction. I also write fiction, speculative fiction, and book reviews.

I review fiction and non-fiction books for The New York Journal of Books (http://www.nyjournalofbooks.com/) and my own blog "The Driftless Area Review" (http://driftlessareareview.com/). Follow me on Twitter (links below).

I'm also a member of the National Book Critics Circle (bookcritics.org).

To publishers and authors: If you are interested in having me review your book, send a query letter to driftlessareareview @ hotmail . com. I will send you information on where to address the review copy. I will read pretty much anything put in front of me.

Reviewing books via Early Reviewers, the Joe Bob Briggs website, the New York Journal of Books, and CCLaP has exposed me to hidden gems amidst the dross and slag. I've also found rare and forgotten treats on the shelves of used bookstores and places like Goodwill and Savers.

A quick glance of my Library and my reviews should give you a good picture of my tastes, preferences, and interests.

My tastes are pretty scatter shot. I like the Great Writers (Proust, Pynchon, Beckett, etc.) as well as more popular commercial stuff like Andrew Vachss, James Ellroy, and Warhammer 40K novels.

Acerca de mi biblioteca"The library represents, maybe with the prison, the last of the uncontested moral universes. The moral goodness of the library is intimately connected to the conceptual value of the book" -- "CONTENT" by Rem Koolhaas

"Eyestone's rooms, like his own dense prose, suggested a point of view: diverse, adorned, amused, premeditated, filled with details, highly inclusive." -- "Laura Warholic" by Alexander Theroux

"There is no such thing as a moral or an immoral book. Books are well written, or badly written." -- "The Picture of Dorian Gray" by Oscar Wilde

"But I've developed a great reputation for wisdom by ordering more books than I ever have time to read, and reading more books, by far, than I learned anything useful from, except, of course, that some very tedious gentlemen have written books. ... Thank God for them all, and for that strange interval, which was most of my life, when I read out of loneliness, and when bad company was better than no company. You can love a bad book for its haplessness or pomposity or gall, if you have the starveling appetite for things human, which I hope you will never have." -- "Gilead" by Marilynne Robinson.

"He is a bad novelist and a fool. The combination usually makes for great popularity in the US." -- Alexander Solzhenitsyn according to Gore Vidal (1980)

"It is all harmony of artifices, of deliberate contradictions. Let us try to note some of these. Realism and idealism are mingled. Along with description that takes extravagant pleasure in the most dismal details of physical reality there is, at the same time, refined expression of ideas and beliefs that exceed the immediate impression made on us by bodies -- There is a union between of the most profound sensuality with Christian asceticism." -- "Les Contemporains ("Baudelaire")" by Jules Lamaitre

My library is an amalgamation of a lifetime. It's an example of wide-ranging, generalist taste, everything from fiction to non-fiction, pop to High Art and everything in between.

GruposDalkey Archive, Erotica, Fans of Joyce Carol Oates, Hobnob with Authors, In Translation, Infinite Jesters, Nabokov!, New York Review Books, Proust, Pynchon Pandæmoniummostrar todos los grupos

Autores favoritosDan Abnett, Kathy Acker, Louis Armand, R. Scott Bakker, J. G. Ballard, Honoré de Balzac, Iain M. Banks, Wayne D. Barlowe, Roland Barthes, Charles Baudelaire, Samuel Beckett, Walter Benjamin, Thomas Bernhard, Sven Birkerts, Roberto Bolaño, Anthony Bourdain, Anthony Burgess, Max Cannon, Robert A. Caro, Louis-Ferdinand Céline, E. M. Cioran, Ethan Coen, Joel Coen, Storm Constantine, Nicole Cushing, Mark Z. Danielewski, Geof Darrow, Robertson Davies, Dougal Dixon, J. R. "Bob" Dobbs, William O. Douglas, James Ellroy, M. F. K. Fisher, Jean Genet, William Gibson, Stephen Jay Gould, Robert Hass, Alan Hollinghurst, Robert Hughes, Joris-Karl Huysmans, Henry James, M.P. Johnson, Walter Kaufmann, Seth Kaufman, Galway Kinnell, Donna Kossy, Tony Kushner, Norman Mailer, William Manchester, Karl Marx, John McPhee, Daniel Mendelsohn, Mike Mignola, Barbara Mor, Vladimir Nabokov, Friedrich Nietzsche, Ovid, Camille Paglia, Adam Parfrey, William Pfaff, Ezra Pound, Marcel Proust, Thomas Pynchon, Monty Python, John Rechy, Kim Stanley Robinson, Salman Rushdie, Marquis de Sade, Severo Sarduy, Simon Schama, Rainer W. Schlegelmilch, Will Self, Jean Shepherd, Joel Shepherd, Gilbert Sorrentino, Rene Staud, Preston Sturges, Algernon Charles Swinburne, Alexander Theroux, Hunter S. Thompson, Jim Thompson, Andrew Vachss, Gore Vidal, William T. Vollmann, Evelyn Waugh, Peter Weissman, Joss Whedon, John Sibley Williams, Cintra Wilson (Favoritos compartidos)

Editoriales favoritasAkashic Books, Archipelago Books, Arsenal Pulp Press, Beacon Press, Cleis Press, Delirium Books, Feral House, McFarland, NYRB Classics, Penguin Australia, Pomegranate, Process Media, The Library of America, Wave Books, Yale University Press, Zone Books

Página principalhttp://driftlessareareview.com/

MembresíaER. Primeros Reseñadores de LibraryThing/Sorteo entre Miembros

También enTwitter, Wordpress

UbicaciónMilwaukee, WI

Tipo de cuentapública

URLs /profile/kswolff (perfil)
/catalog/kswolff (biblioteca)

Miembro desdeSep 12, 2008

Actualmente leyendoPriestess of Morphine: The Lost Writings of Marie-Madeleine in the Time of Nazis por Marie Madeleine

Acerca de | Contactar | LibraryThing.com | Privacidad/Condiciones | Ayuda/Preguntas frecuentes | Blog | Tienda | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas de Figuras Notables | Primeros Reseñadores | Conocimiento Común | 162,451,072 libros! | Barra superior: Siempre visible