BBC Proms Chamber Music

CharlasBBC Radio 3 Listeners

Únete a LibraryThing para publicar.

BBC Proms Chamber Music

Ago 2, 2021, 1:48 am

Monday 2nd August 2021 (starting this afternoon)
Time: 13:00 to 14:00 (1 hour long)

Michael Collins, Adrian Brendel & Michael McHale Celebrate Zemlinsky.

Petroc Trelawny presents a live recital from London's Cadogan Hall, with Michael Collins, Adrian Brendel and Michael McHale playing clarinet trios by Brahms and Zemlinsky. Celebrated British clarinettist Collins is joined by cellist Brendel and pianist McHale to celebrate the 150th anniversary of Austrian composer Alexander von Zemlinsky. Charged with fin de siècle intensity and taut musical drama, the young Zemlinsky's Clarinet Trio was much influenced by Brahms, at whose recommendation it was published. A contemporary said of Brahms's own Trio in A minor that `it is as though the instruments are in love with each other". With its graceful waltz of an intermezzo and dashing finale with hints of Gypsy swagger, it's a musical love affair played out in glorious technicolour. Zemlinsky: Clarinet Trio in D minor, Op 3; Brahms: Clarinet Trio in A minor, Op 114. Michael Collins (clarinet), Adrian Brendel (cello), Michael McHale (piano).

Ago 9, 2021, 1:50 am

Monday 9th August 2021 (starting this afternoon)
Time: 13:00 to 14:00 (1 hour long)

Proms at Cadogan Hall 2.

Petroc Trelawny presents a live recital from from London's Cadogan Hall, with the Marian Consort performing music by Josquin des Prez and some of his contemporaries. British vocal ensemble the Marian Consort makes its Proms debut with a concert celebrating Renaissance master Josquin 500 years after his death. In a season of musical borrowings, three of Josquin's greatest motets, all drawing on pre-existing material, are paired with three musical homages - including the kaleidoscopic Inviolata, integra et casta es by the first published black composer, Vicente Lusitano - that each rework Josquin's own music for a new age. Josquin: Praeter rerum seriem; Sethus Calvisius: Praeter rerum seriem; Josquin: Benedicta es, caelorum Regina; Adriaan Willaert: Benedicta es, caelorum regina; Josquin: Inviolata, integra et casta es; Vicente Lusitano: Inviolata, integra et casta es. Marian Consort.

Editado: Ago 16, 2021, 1:50 am

Monday 16th August 2021 (starting this afternoon)
Time: 13:00 to 14:00 (1 hour long)

Proms at Cadogan Hall 3.

Petroc Trelawny presents a live recital from from London's Cadogan Hall, with the Marmen Quartet performing Haydn's String Quartet in D and Robert Simpson's String Quartet No 1. The prize-winning foursome, formed in 2013 at London's Royal College of Music, make their Proms debut with Haydn's vivacious Lark quartet, which opens with a soaring violin melody that gives the work its nickname. It is also the inspiration for the String Quartet No 1 by Robert Simpson, performed in this centenary year of his birth. Its opening draws on Haydn's own initial theme and its ingenious coda reflects Haydn's elegant simplicity, with a nod to Beethoven thrown in for good measure. Haydn: String Quartet in D Op 64 No 5; Robert Simpson: String Quartet No 1. Marmen Quartet.

Ago 30, 2021, 1:50 am

Monday 30th August 2021 (starting this afternoon)
Time: 13:00 to 14:00 (1 hour long)

Proms at Cadogan Hall 5.

Petroc Trelawny presents live from Cadogan Hall, with Olivier Stankiewicz and Huw Watkins playing 20th-century oboe music. A triptych of sonatas by Saint-Saëns, Dutilleux and Poulenc forms the heart of this Anglo-French programme, with the cool lines of Saint-Saëns' neo-Classical piece giving way to the edgier, mercurial beauty of Dutilleux's, while Poulenc's pays musical homage to its dedicatee Prokofiev, ending with a ravishing lament. Bozza's lyrical Fantaisie pastorale and Ruth Gipps's vivid Sea-Shore Suite complete the recital. Saint-Saëns: Oboe Sonata; Gipps: Sea-Shore Suite; Dutilleux: Oboe Sonata; Poulenc: Oboe Sonata; Bozza: Fantaisie pastorale. Olivier Stankiewicz (oboe), Huw Watkins (piano).

Sep 6, 2021, 1:46 am

Monday 6th September 2021 (starting this afternoon)
Time: 13:00 to 14:00 (1 hour long)

Pauline Viardot and Her Circle.

Petroc Trelawny presents live from Cadogan Hall, with mezzo Ema Nikolovska and pianist Malcolm Martineau performing music by 19th-century composer Pauline Viardot and her friends and contemporaries. A household name across Europe during the late-19th century, Viardot was an international opera star by 18, studied the piano with Liszt, played duets with Chopin, charmed Saint-Saëns, Berlioz, Gounod and the writer Turgenev, and hosted the greatest musical salon of her day. She was also a fine composer, though one still heard too rarely today. BBC New Generation Artist Nikolovska and pianist Martineau invite listeners to step into Viardot's drawing room for a lunchtime recital of music by Viardot and her circle, including Gounod, Brahms, Tchaikovsky and Chopin. Viardot: Canzonetta de concert. Brahms: Fünf Lieder, Op 94 - No 4: Sapphische Ode; Sieben Lieder, Op 48 - No 1: Der Gang zum Liebchen. Clara Schumann: Volkslied; Lorelei. Liszt: Vergiftet sind meine Lieder; Comment, disaient-ils. Viardot: Six chansons du XVe siècle - No 1: Aimez-moi. Malibran: La voix qui dit: je t'aime. Manuel García: Es corredor. Meyerbeer: Le prophète - Donnez pour une pauvre âme. Viardot: Le dernier sorcier - Coulez, gouttes fines (Chanson de la pluie). Fauré: La chanson du pêcheur (Lamento). Viardot: The Tit. Tchaikovsky: My Genius, My Angel, My Friend. Viardot: On Georgian Hills. Tchaikovsky: 12 Romances, Op 60 - No 10: At the Window, in the Shadow. Viardot: Zalotna (La coquette). Ema Nikolovska (mezzo), Malcolm Martineau (piano).

Únete para publicar